h1

Moving on…

August 2, 2006

(As posted on Xanga.com)

MovingThis is the day I officially announce I’m moving.

It was not easy to make the decision to stop posting here completely. I must have known for the longest time that Xanga is probably not the most advanced blog host around, but there was a whole lot of inertia to explore other choices. Granted, it was extremely popular in the past, sort of like the “beginner’s blog” if you like, but most of the people I know from here have long moved on.

Personally I’m very resistant to change, which explains why I’ve hung around longer than everyone else. Besides, it’s always annoying when people change blog addresses on whim and I have to update my bookmarks accordingly, so I try to avoid being the one.

Xanga, I must say, has kept me comfortable and contented– for 914 days no less, according to the Xanga banner. I remember I wasn’t too enthusiastic about the concept of blogging when I first started; it was purely out of peer pressure and necessity (so I didn’t have to constantly e-mail everyone updates) for documenting my six-month stay in America. Look how far I’ve come: blogging is now a mainstay of my life, almost to the point of an inexplicable addiction.

So you understand, I’m very sentimental about my site. Plus the people at Xanga are always giving you nice little surprises to keep you happy.

But yeah, there comes a time when you decide to have a look around in the brave new world and discover that there are other places that offer all that, and more. I’ve been trying out WordPress for awhile now actually, and I really wouldn’t consider moving have I not been absolutely delighted.

I like how it appears classy and professional compared to this current site (the design is entirely due to my inaptitude of course), and I figure since I’m being officially thrown out into the working world, now’s as good a time as any to make the switch.

For those who want to follow and updating your bookmark is not too much of a hassle, I welcome you to visit:

https://pigonwings.wordpress.com

Everything from now on will be located there. I’m still me, but I’ll refrain from being so easily identifiable. More than effortlessly traceable still of course, but at least I’m not trumpeting my real name about (I don’t know why I have the habit of referring to myself in the third person). Bleah.

And to Xanga: Thanks for all the good times. 🙂

One comment

  1. holla! no wonder i don’t see my link on ur xanga anymore! nice and elegant interface I must say!



Leave a Reply

