h1

Coping mechanisms for Grammarphiles

April 28, 2010

If you get annoyed by blatant disregard grammar and punctuation rules like I do, the Internet is a bad place for your blood pressure.

Here are some excellent coping mechanisms from a like-minded soul : http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/04/alot-is-better-than-you-at-everything.html

This is a good one:

When someone types out “u” instead of “you,” instead of getting mad, I imagine them having only one finger on each hand and then their actions seem reasonable.  If I only had one finger on each hand, I’d leave out unnecessary letters too!

hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com

Thanks, Allie. I’ll keep this in mind for next time.

And I love the ALOT too!

The Alot is an imaginary creature that I made up to help me deal with my compulsive need to correct other people’s grammar.  It kind of looks like a cross between a bear, a yak and a pug, and it has provided hours of entertainment for me in a situation where I’d normally be left feeling angry and disillusioned with the world.

hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com

P/S: I know there’s a whole other camp who absolutely detests it when people make words – like “Grammarphiles” – up. Or, I’m thinking, it could be a subset of the same camp of obsessive compulsive folks. Well, too bad for them.

Leave a Reply

