h1

A lesson in patience

May 16, 2010

A lesson in patience

I have been told before that, in photography, if you find a subject with potential, don’t take just two or three shots and walk away. Stay, try different angles, exhaust the possibilities, and that is when you will get a keeper.

This advice never really worked for me in practice. I am not someone with much patience, especially it comes to the repetitive stuff. I believe this is the reason I did badly in Maths in school – I simply did not have the mettle to practice, much less check my work after I am done.

So when @hanshoots picked up a random nut during our Walkabout today and gave me a mini “assignment” to shoot it, I got bored really quickly.

The humble nut was not a particularly interesting subject, and I barely got three mundane shots in when I decided to call it a day.

@hanshoots on the other hand kept going. And then I saw for myself what a difference perseverance makes.

Granted, this is not the most fabulous shot, but it is a reminder to me of this lesson in patience I have experienced first-hand today.

There are no bad subjects, only poor photographers.

Leave a Reply

