h1

Why they say photography is an expensive hobby

June 19, 2010

OMG, I need that prime / wide-angle / walk-about / telephoto / close-up lens!

OMG, now I need those same lenses but with a smaller f/stop.

OMG, I need to get a filter (UV, polarizing, ND) for in each size.

OMG, my photos suck. I really need to take classes.

OMG, I need to buy books on photography (by the way, I thought Bryan Peterson’s Understanding Exposure and Scott Kelby’s set of The Digital Photography Book were absolutely great investments for someone starting out in photography.)

OMG, I need a camera bag to protect my camera!

OMG, now I need to get a nicer one. OMG, I can’t decide which to get, should I just get both?

OMG, I need a waterproof camera casing shipped in from the UK in case my camera gets wet. Yes, even though I never go near the water.

OMG, I need that flash!

OMG, I need another flash! And another.

OMG, I need a studio set-up.

OMG, I need a good tripod. OMG, luckily I got a great one for my birthday.

OMG, I totally need to attend this workshop by (insert name of photographer you admire here), so I can kid myself that my pictures will look more like his after the one-day.

OMG, I totally need to attend this workshop by (insert name of photographer you admire here) in New York / London / on an Arctic Cruise.

OMG, I need to travel to this place… and this place… and this place… and this place. Excellent photo ops!

And this is barely six months into the hobby.

Maybe in another six months:

OMG, I really need to upgrade my camera body!

OMG, now I have an excuse to change my whole lens collection to ‘L’ lenses!

And so the cycle continues.

One comment

  1. hahaha. i find myself checking off ur list too!

    n dang it, u dragged me down together with you!!!

    2 camera bags, 2 lenses all in a space of 2 mths! i totally blame my empty pockets on you!



Leave a Reply

