h1

A lil’ something for bicycles

August 15, 2010

When I am out and about with my camera, I often find myself attracted to bicycles as subjects. I think, perhaps, it is because they hark back to simpler times and I am a sucker for nostalgia.

I first learnt to ride a two-wheel bicycle when I was three (I don’t know why some people find that hard to believe), and for a long time, it was my preferred mode for canvassing the neighbourhood or going to the nearby grocery store.

Unfortunately, I have not been on one for more than ten years, and although they say you never forget how to ride a bike, my love affair with the humble bicycle has waned.

Singapore is not a very conducive place for cycling for many reasons. I was very happy to hear, however, that they are intending to build more cycling paths soon. I have been an advocate of this since returning from Munich in 2004, where dedicated cycling paths run through the entire city. Given the size of our country, if cycling were made safe and convenient (our horrid weather not withstanding), it would seriously be a practical – and green – alternative means of transportation.

That said, while bicycles make good subjects in my mind’s eye, they are really more difficult to photograph than one might think. Having shot many disappointing photos of bicycles during my walkabouts, I finally made a picture that I am rather pleased with.

This picture was shot at the back lane of the soon-to-be defunct Tanjong Pagar Railway Station. And is it just me, or does it look interesting however you process it?

Leave a Reply

